Stakeholder Groups

The MSP Initiative is using a participatory governance framework to develop the marine spatial plan.  The governance structure is described here, and the process for taking decisions includes input from all stakeholders.

MSP Executive Committee (EC)
The MSP Executive Committee takes high level decisions based on information provided from the MSP Steering Committee, Technical Working Groups and public workshops.  The EC is a Ministerial and CEO level group responsible for completing the MSP in relation to the terms of the Seychelles debt swap.

CHAIR: Minister, Ministry of Environment, Energy & Climate Change (MEECC)
FACILITATOR: MSP Process and Science Lead (Seychelles MSP Initiative Core Team)
SECRETARY: MSP Project Manager (Seychelles MSP Initiative Core Team)
Minister, Ministry of Fisheries & Agriculture
Ambassador & Secretary of State, Department of Foreign Affairs
Director General, Seychelles Maritime Safety Administration
CEO, Island Development Corporation (IDC)
CEO, PetroSeychelles
CEO, Seychelles National Parks Authority (SNPA)
CEO, Seychelles Ports Authority
Prinicple Secretary, Blue Economy (Office of the Vice President, Dept. Blue Economy)
Prinicple Secretary, Energy and Climate Change (MEECC)
Prinicple Secretary, Environment (MEECC)
Principle Secretary, Fisheries & Agriculture (Ministry of Fisheries & Agriculture)
Prinicple Secretary, Habitat (Ministry for Habitat, Infrastructure and Transport)
Principle Secretary, Tourism (Ministry of Tourism, Civil Aviation, Ports & Marine)
Deputy CEO, Seychelles Fishing Authority (SFA)
Indian Ocean Tuna Commission (IOTC)
Observer: Commonwealth Senior Advisor Blue Economy Department

MSP Steering Committee (SC)
The MSP Steering Committee reviews and provides technical input and sectoral advice to the MSP Initiative planning outputs.  The SC provides recommendations to the MSP Executive Committee. The SC members represent each sector in Seychelles and includes representatives from the MSP Technical Working Groups (TWG). 

Co-CHAIR: Prinicple Secretary, Environment (MEECC)
Co-CHAIR: Prinicple Secretary, Energy and Climate Change (MEECC)
FACILITATOR: MSP Process and Science Lead (Seychelles MSP Initiative Core Team)
SECRETARY: MSP Project Manager (Seychelles MSP Initiative Core Team)
Department of the Blue Economy (Office of the Vice President)
Ministry of Finance, Trade and Economic Planning
Ministry of Tourism, Civil Aviation, Ports & Marine
Seychelles National Park Authority (SNPA)
Seychelles Fishing Authority (SFA; Ministry of Fisheries & Agriculture)
Seychelles Maritime Safety Administration (SMSA)
Seychelles Coast Guard (SCG)
Island Development Corporation (IDC)
Industrial tuna fisheries (Hunt, Deltel & Co. Ltd.)
MSP Technical Working Group (TWG) representatives:
Marine Ecology TWG Chair:  Marine Conservation Society Seychelles (MCCS)
– Marine Ecology TWG Vice-Chair:  Island Conservation Society (ICS)
– Terrestrial Ecology TWG Chair:  Seychelles Island Foundation (SIF)
– Terrestrial Ecology TWG Vice-Chair:  Island Conservation Society (ICS)
– Socio-Economic TWG Co-Chair Fisheries:  Fishing Boat Owners Association (FBOA)
– Socio-Economic TWG Co-Chair Non-Renewable Energy:  PetroSeychelles
– Socio-Economic TWG Co-Chair Tourism:  Tourism Representative
Observer: Blue Economy Roadmap consultant
Observer: GOS-UNDP-GEF Outer Islands Project Manager
Observer: GOS-UNDP-GEF Protected Area Finance Project
Observer: MSP Working GroupUNDP-GEF-PCU
Observer: SWIOFish3

MSP Technical Working Groups (TWG)
The MSP Technical Working Groups represent ecological and socio-economic sectors.  There are three Technical Working Groups: marine ecology, socio-economic and terrestrial ecology. The TWGs are responsible for providing detailed technical and sectoral information to develop planning tools and draft outputs, as well as local knowledge and topic expertise.  Each TWG has representatives that sit on the MSP Steering Committee and provide integration between these stakeholder groups. 

FACILITATOR: MSP Process and Science Lead (Seychelles MSP Initiative Core Team)
SECRETARY: MSP Project Manager (Seychelles MSP Initiative Core Team)
Marine Conservation Society Seychelles* (Chair)
Global Vising International* (Vice-Chair)
Association of Shark Fishing
Green Islands Foundation
Island Conservation Society
Nature Seychelles
Seychelles Fishing Authority (SFA)
Seychelles Maritime Safety Administration (SMSA)
Turtle Action Group Seychelles
World Wildlife Fund (WWF)

Fishing Boat Owner’s Association* (Co-Chair)
Seychelles Hospitality and Tourism Association* (Co-Chair)
PetroSeychelles* (Co-Chair)
Association of Shark Fishing
Bel Ombre Fishing Association
Fisherman’s Association Praslin
La Digue Fishing Association
Ministry of Tourism and Culture
Roche Caiman Fishing Association
Save Our Seas Foundation
Seychelles Coast Guard
Seychelles Energy Commission
Seychelles Heritage Foundation
Seychelles Fishing Authority (SFA)
Seychelles Sport Fishing Club (SSFC)
Seychelles Tourism Board

Seychelles Island Foundation (SIF)* (Chair)
Plant Conservation Action Group* (Vice-Chair)
Seychelles National Park Authority (SNPA)
Sustainability for Seychelles
Terrestrial Restoration Action Society of Seychelles
DG Wildlife, Enforcement & Permits (MEECC)

* Steering Commitee members


Last updated: 18 December 2017